
Initial PE Application instructions 

November 20, 2023 

To apply for Initial PE Licensure, you must complete and submit the following 
items: 

• Application, completed, notarized, with fee and passport quality photo attached 

• Transcripts sent directly from the college/university to the Board office 
 
• Verification of FE exam – this is done electronically and securely between most state licensing 

boards. You submit your FE exam verification request through your MYNCEES account at 
www.ncees.org. Be aware that some states charge a verification fee; you’ll see the charges 
during the verification process. 

 
If you passed the FE exam in Mississippi, no verification is necessary. Just disclose your 
Mississippi FE exam on the application form at the bottom of page 1 and the Board staff will 
gather the appropriate documentation for your application. 
 
• But what if the other state does not participate in electronic board-to- board verifications? 

Then use the Licensure/Exam Verification form, which is the last form in this packet and be 
sure to follow the instructions at the top of the page. 

 
• Experience Verification Form(s) in a sealed envelope bearing the verifier’s signature across 

the envelop seal (You will need a minimum of one; you are required to submit as many as 
necessary to verify the required amount of qualifying engineering experience (4 years).  
Only supervising Professional Engineers are to complete this form). 

 
• Character Reference Forms in separate sealed envelopes bearing the references’ signatures across 

the envelopes’ seal (State law requires 5 references, 3 of whom must be Professional 
Engineers. The number and type of character reference forms you need to submit will depend on 
the number of experience reference forms you submit (discussed above).  

 
• For example, if you’ve had only one PE supervisor for four years, you submit one (1) 

experience verification form from him and four (4) character reference forms from 
four (4) other individuals, two (2) of whom must be PE’s.  

• Another example: if you’ve had 7 PE supervisors for four (4) years, you will need to 
submit 7 experience verification forms and no character reference forms. 

 
The agency address is currently: 
 
Mississippi Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers & Surveyors 
660 North Street, Suite 400 
Jackson, MS 39202 

 
Email: infomation@pepls.state.ms.us 
 
 

http://www.ncees.org/
mailto:infomation@pepls.state.ms.us


Initial PE Application instructions 

November 20, 2023 

Verification of FE/FS Exam Form: if you passed the FE exam in a state or territory other than 
Mississippi, mail a copy of the Verification of FE/FS Exam form to that state or territory with a 
stamped business size envelope addressed to the Mississippi Board of Licensure for Professional 
Engineers & Surveyors. Contact information for other state boards can be found at www.ncees.org. 
Be aware that some states charge a fee for this service. 

 
Experience Verification Form: 
(A) Make as many copies of the Experience Verification form as are necessary to verify the required 
amount of qualifying engineering experience. This form should be completed only by supervising 
Professional Engineers.  It is recommended that you begin with the most recent experience and “work 
backward” in time until a minimum of 4 years of experience is verified. 

 
(B) Fill out page one and the top of page two as indicated. Attach a copy of your experience record 
(from your application) and mail these to your experience verifier(s), with a stamped business size 
envelope addressed to the Mississippi Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers & Surveyors. 

(C) The verifier must place the completed Experience Verification form into the supplied business 
size envelope, seal the envelope, and sign across the back flap of the envelope. He(she) then must 
mail it directly to the Board office. BE ADVISED that we will not accept forms submitted in 
envelopes that are not sealed and signed across the back flap. The Board staff does not have the 
authority to waive this requirement; please do not ask the Board staff or Executive Director to waive 
this requirement for you. 

Character Reference Form:  
(A) Make as many copies of the Character Reference form as are necessary to meet the required 
five (5), three of whom must be PE’s, considering the number of Experience Verification forms 
you are submitting (see above). 

 
(B) Fill out page one and the applicant’s name at the top of page two as indicated. Mail it to your 
reference(s), with a stamped business size envelope addressed to the Mississippi Board of 
Licensure for Professional Engineers 7 Surveyors. 
  
(C) The reference must place the completed Character Reference form into a business size envelope, 
seal the envelope, and sign across the back flap of the envelope. He (she) then must mail it directly 
to the Board office. BE ADVISED that we will not accept forms that are not sealed and signed 
across the back flap. The Board staff does not have the authority to waive this requirement; please 
do not ask the Board staff or Executive Director to waive this requirement for you. 
 
It is acceptable for you to submit your Experience Verification Form(s) and your Character 
Reference Forms along with your application in one large submission; however, these forms 
MUST be in separate envelopes bearing the appropriate signatures across the envelope seal. 
Forms that do not comply with these instructions will not be accepted and the applicant will 
be instructed to obtain new forms; the Board staff will not remediate forms that do not 
comply with these instructions. The Board staff does not have the authority to waive this 
requirement; please do not ask the Board staff or Executive Director to waive this requirement for 
you. 

http://www.ncees.org/
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When completing the application form... 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION - Section 1 - Follow all directions carefully. Your full name and your 
social security number are required by state law. 
 
LICENURES – Section 2 – Supply the required information on you FE (Engineer Intern / 
Engineer-In-Training / Fundamentals of Engineering) Exam. 

 
EDUCATION – Section 3 – Supply the required information on your degree (s). You are 
responsible for arranging to have your transcript sent directly from the college/university to 
the Board office; you may use the Transcript Request Form supplied on this site. Some universities 
will take transcript requests by phone with credit card payment. 

GRADUATES OF FOREIGN or Non-ABET UNIVERSITIES - Be advised that if your BS 
degree is not an ABET accredited BS degree in engineering and you do not have a graduate degree 
from an ABET university, your BS degree MUST be evaluated by N. C. E. E. S Credentials 
Evaluations (www.ncees.org). NCEES is the only transcript evaluation service acceptable under 
Board regulations. There is no waiver of this requirement. Do not apply until you have received 
the result of the NCEES’s evaluation; if the evaluation finds that your degree is not equivalent to an 
ABET accredited degree, you will not be eligible to apply at this time. You may, however, have the 
opportunity to “cure any deficiencies” by taking additional coursework, as directed by the Board. 

 
EXPERIENCE - Section 4 – All time must be accounted for, including military time, illness, 
unemployment, etc. Each company you worked for is considered an engagement. If you were 
promoted within a company, do not indicate a change in engagements. If an engagement was part 
time work, indicate part time and the number of hours you worked per week. Experience must be 
started on the application form first. If you need additional pages, please number each page 
accordingly. Experience cannot be anticipated, that is, the required amount of experience must be 
accrued at the time the application is filed with the Board office. Concurrent time (time in engineering 
experience while in school) counts as education experience or work experience, but not as both. 

Your experience must be verified with the Professional Engineer(s) who supervised your work. If 
you did not work directly for a PE, list the person to whom you report directly AND the next person 
"up the chain of command" who is a PE. Mark the PE's name with an *. A PE who is an associate 
or a co-worker is not an acceptable experience verification reference. Provide a complete address 
for each reference. The experience verified by these references must substantiate the total 
required years of experience. Experience under a non-licensee is not qualifying experience toward 
licensure. 

Experience accrued before graduation does not qualify. However, applicants who completed an 
approved co-op program at an ABET university may be given up to 6 months experience "credit" 
(your choice) but be aware that other states may not recognize a PE exam taken before a full four 
years was accrued after graduation. If you wish to be awarded this co-op experience “credit,” you 
should arrange with your university to have official verification that you completed the co-op 
program sent directly from the university to the Board office. 

For those seeking dual licensures, be advised that Rule 9.01-4 c states, “With reference to Mississippi 
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statutes 73-13-23 and 73-13-77 and Rule 11.18, applicants seeking dual licensure (both Professional 
Engineer and Professional Surveyor) must meet the experience requirements for each license”. 

 
REFERENCES - Section 5 - The law requires that the application contain the names of five 
references, three of whom must be Professional Engineers, having personal knowledge of the 
applicant's engineering experience. Provide a complete address for each reference. (These should 
include PE supervisor(s) listed in Section 4 who can verify the greatest portion of your experience.) 

 
Complete the application and print it. Be sure to retain a copy of your records. Attach your photo 
(passport quality only) and have the application notarized. Submit it with the application fee by mail. 
Please pay by check payable to the Miss. Board of Licensure. We do not accept applications by fax 
or email. We are not responsible for delays or non-delivery by the mail service.  If you are 
submitting within a week of a deadline, we recommend a next day delivery service. 

The Board reviews completed applications approximately every two months; they do not review 
incomplete applications. Once the Board has approved your application and officially cited you to 
the exam, you will be advised by letter, directing you on the exam registration process with our exam 
proctor, NCEES (www.ncees.org). It is very important that you notify us immediately of any address 
change. 

 
Be aware that there is an additional fee to take the exam, payable to NCEES. The application fee is 
to cover all the Board expenses incurred in processing and approving your application. The exam fee 
is to pay for purchasing, proctoring, and grading your exam. You can find the current exam fee for 
your exam by logging onto the NCEES web site and going to the Mississippi link. 

 
• On the initial application, an examinee is allowed three (3) citations, that is, three (3) 

opportunities to pass the exam. We no longer grant “postponements”, regardless of the reason. 
The citations “count”, whether the examinee takes the exam or not. Failure to attend the exam 
does not count as a failure of the exam, but it does count as a citation. 

 
• If the applicant does not pass after three consecutive citations, the initial application is 

closed. To attempt the exam again, the applicant must submit a new application to be 
approved by the Board, and will be allowed only one citation per application, subject to the 
restrictions below. This one citation counts whether the applicant takes the exam or not. 

 
• An applicant having three or more unsuccessful attempts of the same exam, regardless of the 

jurisdiction in which the exam is administered, must apply to be readmitted to future 
administrations of the same exam. If readmitted by the Board, the applicant may take the exam 
no sooner than eleven (11) months following the most recent attempt. 

 
To check the status of your application:   
Search for licensed individuals on our website home page (www.pepls.ms.gov).  If licensed you will find 
the individuals name, contact information, date of licensure and license expiration.  If not listed, then the 
application may still be in progress. You can also Email us at information@pepls.state.ms.us. 

http://www.pepls.ms.gov/
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