Mississippi Board of Licensure for
Professional Engineers & Surveyors

Professional Surveyor (PS) Application instructions

The application for licensure as Professional Surveyor in the State of Mississippi is an online
application. You can access the application via the Start an Application link provided on our
website (www.pepls.ms.gov). Look for the following and proceed accordingly.

START AN
APPLICATION

Application link for Applicants with or without
an NCEES record

APPLY HERE

The current requirements *** for Professional Surveyor (both initial and
comity) licensure are:

Education-based: completion of approved courses* +

the Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam +

4,5, 6 or 7 years of qualifying surveying experience +
the Principles & Practice of Surveying (PPS) exam +

the Mississippi Section examination (Mississippi state-
specific exam)

Experience-based: the Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam +
12 years** of qualifying surveying experience +
the Principles & Practice of Surveying (PPS) exam +

the Mississippi Section examination (Mississippi state-
specific exam)
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*Please refer to Part 901 Chapter 5, Rule 5.2 of the Rules and Regulations for the list of approved
courses. 62 hours of approved courses with a GPA of 2.0 or higher on a 4.0-point scale in the
technical courses of surveying, math, physics, graphics, and computer science is required.

**May be a combination of experience plus education in the approved courses listed above;
applicants not fully complying with the course requirement, including the required GPA in the
technical courses, will be considered as an “experience-based” applicant.

***Please be advised that Mississippi law for Professional Surveyor licensure changed on July 1,
2016. At that time the required amount of qualifying surveying experience will depend on the level
of surveying- related college coursework an applicant has. Applicants without acceptable
surveying-related college coursework will be required to have twelve (12) years of qualifying
surveying experience. For more information you may refer to section 73-13-77 of the Licensure
Law on the Board’s website.

To apply for INITIAL (first-time) Professional Surveyor licensure you must complete the
online application and pay the applicable fee.

Required supporting documents include the following:

- official transcripts from all universities attended, if any, sent directly from the university to
the Board office (unless you are a Mississippi-enrolled Surveyor Intern)

- Verification of your FS exam. This verification is not necessary if you passed the FS exam
in Mississippi.

- Five (5) Professional Surveyor Reference forms. You are required to submit as many as
are necessary to verify the required amount of qualifying surveying experience: 4, 5, 6 or
7 years for education-based applicants and up to 12 years for experience-based applicants.)
Your references can transmit the completed form directly to the agency via email at
information@pepls.state.ms.us. Completed forms are accepted directly from the reference

only. Applicants for initial (first-time) PS licensure must submit reference forms from at
least one PS supervisor, verifying the total required years of experience.
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To apply for COMITY Professional Surveyor licensure (with or without an NCEES record),
you must complete the online application and pay the applicable fee.

COMITY with an NCEES record COMITY without an NCEES record

Have your NCEES record transmitted to the - if applying based on your education,
agency. Typically, the NCEES record will official transcripts from all

include all the required information (i.e.
educational transcripts, if any, experience
verifications and references, other state
license verifications.)

universities attended sent directly
from the university to the Board office
(unless you are a Mississippi-enrolled
Surveyor Intern); if you are applying

based on 12 years or more of
experience, transcripts are not
required.

- Verification of both FS and PPS
exams and current licensure in your
current home state. Complete the
request form as many times as
necessary to have your FS and PS
exams and your PS licensure in your
current home state verified to the
Mississippi Board. (For instance, if
you took your FS exam in one state,
your PS exam in a second state, and
you now reside and practice in a third
state, then you’ll need to request
verifications from three different state
boards to be sent to the Mississippi
Board.) Be aware that some states
charge a verification fee; you’ll see
these charges during the verification
request process.

- Five (5) Professional Surveyor
Reference forms in separate sealed
envelopes bearing the references’
signatures across the envelopes’ seal
(At least 3 forms must be completed
by Professional Surveyors. You are
required to submit as many as are
necessary to verify the required
amount of qualifying surveying
experience: 4, 5, 6 or 7 years for
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education-based applicants and up to
12 years for experience-based
applicants.)

GENERAL INFORMATION:

EDUCATION - You are responsible for having a transcript of secondary education mailed directly
from the college to the Board office.

EXPERIENCE - Experience for initial PS applicants must be verified with the Professional
Surveyors who supervised the applicant’s work. If there is no PS supervisor who can verify the
experience of a Comity PS applicant, then the applicant must submit a letter of explanation for the
Board’s consideration.

These references must substantiate the total required years of experience. Experience cannot be
anticipated, that is, the required amount of experience must be accrued at the time the application
is filed with the Board office. Experience under a non-licensee is not qualifying experience toward
licensure. Work experience must be progressive and of an increasing standard of quality and
responsibility. It should include field assignments, office assignments, researching records, and
property line surveying.

Please be advised that an application will be considered incomplete if all required information is
not provided.

REFERENCES:

(A) (for initial and COMITY without an NCEES record applicants only) Make as many copies of
the PS Reference form as are necessary to verify the required years of qualifying surveying
experience. It is recommended that you begin with the most recent experience and “work
backward” in time until sufficient years of experience are verified. Remember, state law requires
five (5) completed reference forms, three (3) of whom MUST be Professional Surveyors. If you
are using a NCEES record, references are typically included as part of the record.

(B) Fill out page one and the top of page two as indicated. Attach a copy of your experience record
(from your application) and send these to your references. Your references can transmit the
completed form directly to the agency via email at information@pepls.state.ms.us. Completed
forms are accepted directly from the reference only unless included as part of your NCEES record.

(C) PS comity applicants who have been licensed and practicing for less than ten years must submit
reference forms from PS supervisors who had review and approval authority over the applicant’s
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work. PS comity applicants who have been licensed and practicing for ten years or more may
submit reference forms from PS’s who are associates, peers, and co-workers. If a comity
applicant’s experience cannot be verified and documented in accordance with these procedures,
the Board may deny licensure, or, in the alternative, may require substantial additional
documentation to verify the applicant’s experience to the Board’s satisfaction.

(D) Applicants for initial (first-time) PS licensure must submit reference forms from at least one
PS supervisor, verifying the total required years of experience.

For those seeking dual licensures (PS & PE), be advised that Rule 9.01-4 c states, “With reference
to Mississippi statutes 73-13-23 and 73-13-77 and Rule 11.18, applicants seeking dual licensure
(both Professional Engineer and Professional Surveyor) must meet the experience requirements
for each license.”

MISSISSIPPI (MS) SECTION EXAM:

An applicant must have first passed the NCEES PPS exam, before they will be granted citation(s)
to the MS Section exam.

On the initial application, an examinee is allowed three (3) citations, that is, three (3) opportunities
to pass the exam. We no longer grant “postponements”, regardless of the reason. The citations
“count”, whether the examinee takes the exam or not.

Failure to attend the exam does not count as a failure of the exam, but it does count as a citation.

If the applicant does not pass after three consecutive citations, the initial application is closed. To
attempt the exam again, the applicant must submit a new application to be approved by the Board,
and will be allowed only one citation per application, subject to the restrictions below. This one
citation counts whether the applicant takes the exam or not.

An applicant having three or more unsuccessful attempts of the same exam, regardless of the
jurisdiction in which the exam is administered, must apply to be readmitted to future
administrations of the same exam. If readmitted by the Board, the applicant may take the exam no
sooner than eleven (11) months following the most recent attempt.

NATIONAL EXAMS:

For each Professional Surveyor application, the Board’s official approval to take the NCEES PPS
exam, expires after two years. A new application for licensure in Mississippi is required for any
further exam attempts.
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