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**** TO PS APPLICANTS - PLEASE READ CAREFULLY **** 

************************************************************************************ 
The Principles and Practice of Surveying exam, also known as the PS exam, converted from a pencil and- 
paper exam to a computer-based exam in October 2016. Application submissions for this exam are not 
subject to a deadline, and will be accepted, processed, and presented for Board approval on a continuous 
basis. Following notice that the application appears to be complete, PS applicants should allow 
approximately 90 days to receive notification of Board decisions on their applications. 
************************************************************************************ 

Please restrict phone calls about your application status to between 2:00 & 4:00 PM; call 601-359-6160. 
This allows us time to file all the mail received each day, so we can give you the most current 
information. You can also email questions about the status of your application to:  
information@pepls.state.ms.us. 

Please do not submit application status inquiries to the Board’s main email address; this address is for the 
purposes of general information only. 

For privacy reasons, the staff will discuss the status of your application with you only, 
or with your assistant whom you have designated in a letter or email to us. The current 
requirements*** for Professional Surveyor (both initial and comity) licensure are: 

Education-based:       completion of approved courses*  + 
the Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam    + 
4, 5, 6 or 7 years of qualifying surveying  
experience   + 
the Principles & Practice of Surveying (PPS) exam  + 
the Mississippi Section examination (Mississippi state-
specific exam) 

OR 

Experience-based:     the Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam + 
12 years** of qualifying surveying experience   + 
the Principles & Practice of Surveying (PPS) exam  + 
the Mississippi Section examination (Mississippi state-
specific exam) 

* Surveying 9 hours 
Math: alg,trig,calc 9 hours 
Physics  8 hours 
Graphics 3 hours 
Computer Science 6 hours
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English/writing     9 hours 
Electives 18 hours 

         62 hours with a GPA of 2.0 or higher on a 4.0 point scale in the 
             technical courses of surveying, math, physics, graphics, and 
            computer science 

Recommended electives:  accounting, real estate, land law, astronomy, general business, 
business law 

**May be a combination of experience plus education in the approved courses listed above; applicants not 
fully complying with the courses requirement, including the required GPA in the technical courses, will be 
considered as an “experience-based” applicant. 

***Please be advised that Mississippi law for Professional Surveyor licensure changed on July 1, 2016. At 
that time the required amount of qualifying surveying experience will depend on the level of surveying- 
related college coursework an applicant has. Applicants without acceptable surveying-related college 
coursework will be required to have twelve (12) years of qualifying surveying experience.  For more 
information you may refer to section 73-13-77 of the Licensure Law on the Board’s website. 

To apply for INITIAL (first-time) Professional Surveyor licensure you must complete and submit: 

By the application filing deadline:   -          the completed application, notarized, with fee and passport- 
quality photo attached 

By the documentation deadline:       -          official transcripts from all universities attended, if any, sent 
directly from the university to the Board office (unless you 
are a Mississippi-enrolled Surveyor Intern) 

- Verification of your FS exam, if passed in a state other than
Mississippi, using this electronically secure verification link:
https://verify.ncees.org/ . Complete the request form to have
your FS exam verified electronically to the Mississippi Board.
This verification is not necessary if you passed the FS exam in
Mississippi.

But what if the other state is not in the list (does not parti- 
cipate in electronic board-to-board verifications) ?  Then use
the Licensure/Exam Verification form, which is the last form
in this packet and be sure to follow the instructions at the top
of the page.

- Five (5) Professional Surveyor Reference forms in separate
sealed envelopes bearing the references’ signatures across the
envelopes’ seal  (At least 3 forms must be completed by
Professional Surveyors.  You are required to submit as many
as are necessary to verify the required amount of qualifying
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surveying experience: 4, 5, 6 or 7 years for education-based 
applicants and up to 12 years for experience-based applicants.) 

To apply for COMITY Professional Surveyor licensure, you must complete and submit : 

By the application filing deadline:   -          the completed application, notarized, with fee and passport- 
quality photo attached 

By the documentation deadline:       -          if applying based on your education, official transcripts from 
all universities attended  sent  directly from the university to 
the Board office (unless you  are a Mississippi-enrolled 
Surveyor Intern); if you are applying based on 12 years or 
more of experience, transcripts are not required. 

- Verification of both FS and PPS exams and current licensure
in your current home state, using this electronically secure
link: https://verify.ncees.org/ . Complete the request form as
many times as necessary to have your FS and PS exams and
your PS licensure in your current home state verified to the
Mississippi Board. (For instance, if you took your FS exam in
one state, your PS exam in a second state, and you now reside
and practice in a third state, then you’ll need to request
verifications from three different state boards to be sent to the
Mississippi Board.)  Be aware that some states charge a
verification fee; you’ll see these charges during the
verification request process.

But what if the other state is not in the list (does not parti-
cipate in electronic board-to-board verifications) ?  Then use
the Licensure/Exam Verification form, which is the last form
in this packet and be sure to follow the instructions at the top
of the page.

If you passed either the FS or PPS exam in Mississippi, it is
not necessary to submit a verification request to the
Mississippi Board; just disclose your Mississippi exam on the
application form at the bottom of page 1 and the Board staff
will gather the appropriate documentation for your
application.

- Five (5) Professional Surveyor Reference forms in separate
sealed envelopes bearing the references’ signatures across the
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envelopes’ seal  (At least 3 forms must be completed by 
Professional Surveyors.  You are required to submit as many as 
are necessary to verify the required amount of qualifying 
surveying experience: 4, 5, 6 or 7 years for education-based 
applicants and up to 12 years for experience-based applicants.) 

PS Reference Form:  (A) Make as many copies of the PS Reference form as are necessary to verify the 
required years of qualifying surveying experience.  It is recommended that you begin with the most recent 
experience and “work backward” in time until sufficient years of experience are verified. Remember, state 
law requires five (5) completed reference forms, three (3) of whom MUST be Professional Surveyors. 

(B) Fill out page one and the top of page two as indicated.  Attach a copy of your experience record (from
your application) and mail these to your references, with a stamped business size envelope addressed to:
Miss. Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers & Surveyors, 660 North Street, Suite 400, Jackson, MS
39202.

(C) The referencing individual must place the completed reference form into the supplied business size
envelope, seal the envelope, and sign across the back flap of the envelope. He(she) then must mail it directly
to the Board office.  BE ADVISED that we will not accept forms that are not sealed and signed across the
back flap. The Board staff does not have the authority to waive this requirement; please do not ask the Board
staff or Executive Director to waive this requirement for you.

(D) PS comity applicants who have been licensed and practicing for less than ten years must submit
reference forms from PS supervisors who had review and approval authority over the applicant’s work. PS
comity applicants who have been licensed and practicing for ten years or more may submit reference forms
from PS’s who are associates, peers, and co-workers.  If a comity applicant’s experience cannot be verified
and documented in accordance with these procedures, the Board may deny licensure, or, in the alternative,
may require substantial additional documentation to verify the applicant’s experience to the Board’s
satisfaction.

(E) Applicants for initial (first-time) PS licensure must submit reference forms from at least one PS
supervisor, verifying the total required years of experience.

It is acceptable for you to submit your Reference Forms along with your application in one large 
submission; however, these forms MUST be in separate envelopes bearing the signature across the 
envelope seal.  Forms that do not comply with theses instructions will not be accepted and the 
applicant will be instructed to obtain new forms; the Board staff will not remediate forms that do not 
comply with these instructions. The Board staff does not have the authority to waive this requirement; 
please do not ask the Board staff or Executive Director to waive this requirement for you. 

When completing the application form... 

GENERAL INFORMATION - Section 1 - Follow all directions carefully. Your full name (no initials) and 
social security number are required by state law. 
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LICENSURES - Section 2 
Comity applicants: If you are submitting an NCEES record, complete Sections 1, 2, 3 and 6 of the 
application.  If you are not submitting an NCEES record, the entire application must be completed. (An 
NCEES record is your resume booklet maintained by NCEES for an annual fee; it is not simply a “record” of 
your exam grades.) Comity applicants must supply the required information on their FS and PPS 
examinations.  “No.” refers to the enrollment or licensure number you were assigned when you passed your 
exam. Initial & Comity applicants - Be advised that the 2 hour Mississippi Section examination 
(Mississippi state-specific exam) is now given at a location at or near the Board's office in Jackson, MS. 

Initial applicants - Supply the required information on your FS (Surveyor Intern/Surveyor-in- 
Training/Fundamentals of Surveying) Exam. 

EDUCATION - Section 3 - You are responsible for having a transcript of secondary education mailed 
directly from the college to the Board office.  You may use the Transcript Request Form on this site. Some 
universities will take transcript requests by phone with credit card payment.  If you attended more than one 
university, a transcript is required from each university; universities are no longer listing in detail the courses 
accepted as transfer credit from previous-attended universities. 

EXPERIENCE - Section 4 - Experience for initial PS applicants must be verified with the Professional 
Surveyors who supervised the applicant’s work.  If there is no PS supervisor who can verify the experience 
of a Comity PS applicant, then the applicant must submit a letter of explanation for the Board’s 
consideration. 

These references must substantiate the total required years of experience.  Experience cannot be 
anticipated, that is, the required amount of experience must be accrued at the time the application is filed 
with the Board office.  Experience under a non-licensee is not qualifying experience toward licensure. 
Work experience must be progressive and of an increasing standard of quality and responsibility.  It should 
include field assignments, office assignments, researching records, and property line surveying. 

Please be advised that an application will be returned if Section 4 is not completed with the required 
information. 

REFERENCES - Section 5 - The law requires that the application contain the names of five references, 
three of whom must be Professional Surveyors, having personal knowledge of the applicant's surveying 
experience.  Provide a complete address for each reference. 

PS Reference Form: (A) Make as many copies of the PS Reference Form as are necessary to verify the 
required years of qualifying surveying experience. It is recommended that you begin with the most recent 
experience and “work backward” in time until sufficient years of experience are verified. 
(B) Fill out page one and the top of page two as indicated.  Attach a copy of your experience record (from
your application) and mail these to your experience verifier(s), with a stamped business size envelope
addressed to: Miss. Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers & Surveyors, 660 North Street, Suite 400,
Jackson, MS  39202.
(C) The referencing individual must place the completed PS Reference Form into the supplied business size
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envelope, seal the envelope, and sign across the back flap of the envelope. He(she) then must mail it directly 
to the Board office.  BE ADVISED that we will not accept forms that are not sealed. The Board staff does 
not have the authority to waive this requirement; please do not ask the Board staff or Executive Director to 
waive this requirement for you. It is acceptable for you to submit your Reference Forms along with your 
application in one large submission; however, these forms MUST be in separate envelopes bearing the 
signature across the envelope seal.  Forms that do not comply with theses instructions will not be 
accepted and the applicant will be instructed to obtain new forms; the Board staff will not remediate 
forms that do not comply with these instructions. 

For those seeking dual licensures (PS & PE), be advised that Rule 9.01-4 c states, “With reference to 
Mississippi statutes 73-13-23 and 73-13-77 and Rule 11.18, applicants seeking dual licensure (both 
Professional Engineer and Professional Surveyor) must meet the experience requirements for each license.” 

Complete the application and print it. Be sure to retain a copy for your records.  Attach your photo (passport 
quality) and have the application notarized.  Submit it with the application fee by mail. Please pay by check 
payable to the Miss. Board of Licensure. We do not accept applications by fax or email. We are not 
responsible for delays or non-delivery by the mail service.   If you are submitting within a week of a 
deadline, we recommend a next day delivery service. 

The Board reviews completed applications approximately every two to three months; they do not review 
incomplete applications.  Once the Board has approved your application and officially cited you to the exam(s), 
you will be advised by letter, directing you on the exam registration process for: the PPS with our exam proctor, 
NCEES (www.ncees.org); and for the Mississippi Section examination (MS state specific exam) which is 
proctored by the Board’s staff in Jackson, MS.  It is very important that you notify us immediately of any 
address change. 

Be aware that there is an additional fee to take the PPS exam, payable to NCEES.  The application fee is to 
cover all the Board expenses incurred in processing and approving your application.  The exam fee is to pay for 
purchasing, proctoring, and grading your exam.  You can find the current exam fee for your exam by logging 
onto the NCEES web site and going to the Exam Registration/Mississippi link. 

There is also a fee to take the Mississippi Section examination (MS state specific exam). 

For Paper and Pencil Exams (i.e. the MS Section exam, NCEES PE exam): 

• On the initial application, an examinee is allowed three (3) citations, that is, three (3) opportunities to
pass the exam.  We no longer grant “postponements”, regardless of the reason.  The citations “count”,
whether the examinee actually takes the exam or not. Failure to attend the exam does not count as a
failure of the exam, but it does count as a citation.

• If the applicant does not pass after three consecutive citations, the initial application is closed.  To
attempt the exam again, the applicant must submit a new application to be approved by the Board,
and will be allowed only one citation per application, subject to the restrictions below. This one
citation counts, whether the applicant actually takes the exam or not.

http://www.ncees.org/


June/2018 

• An applicant having three or more unsuccessful attempts of the same exam, regardless of the
jurisdiction in which the exam is administered,  must submit an application to be readmitted to future
administrations of the same exam.  If readmitted by the Board, the applicant may take the exam no
sooner than eleven (11) months following the most recent attempt.

• An applicant must have first passed the NCEES PPS exam, before they will be granted citation(s) to
the MS Section exam.

For Computer Based Testing (CBT) exams (i.e. the NCEES PPS, FS & FE exams): 

• For each Professional Surveyor application, the Board’s official approval to take the NCEES CBT
PPS exam, expires after two years

• The applicant is allowed up to three citations (opportunities) during each year to take and pass the exam.
So it is possible for an applicant to take the exam up to six times over a two year period.

• We do not grant “postponements”, regardless of the reason.

• The Board’s official approval to take the exam expires after two years, whether the applicant has
utilized six citations or not. If the applicant is not successful by the end of the second year, the
application is closed and a new application is required

It is to your benefit to routinely check on the status of your application. 

 Please restrict phone calls about your application status to between 2:00 & 4:00 
PM; call 601-359-6160. 

You can also email questions about the status of your application to:  
information@pepls.state.ms.us. 
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